Skip to main content
Law Almanac
Print page

Supreme Court Civil, Circuit and Criminal Sittings 2019

Perth Civil Sittings

Civil sittings of the Supreme Court at Perth for the trial of causes and issues of fact during the year 2019 shall commence on Tuesday, 15 January 2019 and shall continue, except for the Easter and Winter Vacations and for Public Service holidays, until Tuesday, 24 December 2019.

Perth Criminal Sittings

Criminal sittings of the Supreme Court to be held at Perth during the year 2019 shall commence on the following days:

Tuesday 15 January
Friday 1 February
Friday 1 March
Monday 1 April
Wednesday 1 May
Monday 3 June
Monday 3 July
Thursday 1 August
Monday 2 September
Tuesday 1 October
Friday 1 November
Monday 2 December

Circuit Sittings

Sittings of the Supreme Court at circuit towns for 2019 will be held in accordance with the following:


14 January 2019
29 April 2019
29 July 2019
7 October 2019


18 February 2019
27 May 2019
5 August 2019
4 November 2019


18 February 2019
27 May 2019
5 August 2019
4 November 2019


14 January 2019
29 April 2019
29 July 2019
7 October 2019


18 February 2019
1 April 2019
4 June 2019
22 July 2019
21 October 2019


25 February 2019
17 June 2019
14 October 2019
2 December 2019

Carnarvon, Karratha, South Hedland, Broome, Derby and Kununurra

11 March 2019
13 May 2019
12 August 2019
2 September 2019
11 November 2019

Masters' Chambers

Unless otherwise directed, a Master sits in chambers each Tuesday and Thursday.

Special appointments will be given, when necessary, for urgent matters or matters that are expected to take more than 20 minutes and are arranged by following the procedures set out in the Consolidated Practice Directions (2009) at 4.3.1.

Supreme Court Vacations

The vacations to be observed in the Supreme Court will be the summer vacation, the Easter vacation, and the winter vacation. The summer vacation commences on 25 December and terminates on the second Monday in January next following; the Easter vacation commences on Good Friday and terminates on Easter Monday, and the winter vacation commences on a day in June, July or August fixed by Rule of Court, from year to year, and terminates on a day 14 days after the day so fixed.

The vacation periods for 2019 are:

Summer: 25 December 2018 - 14 January 2019
Winter: 8 July 2019 – 19 July 2019
Summer: 25 December 2019 - 13 January 2020

In the computation of the time prescribed by the Rules of the Supreme Court or by an order or direction for filing serving or amending any pleading or for filing and serving any notice of appeal the period or any part of the period which is between 25 December and 8 January next following shall not be reckoned unless the court orders.

Supreme Court Holidays

Rule 5 of Order 68 of the Rules of the Supreme Court provides that the several offices of the Supreme Court shall be open every day of the year except Saturdays, Sundays, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Christmas Day, and all public service holidays.

Last updated: 8-Feb-2019

[ back to top ]

Home | Feedback | Privacy | Copyright and Disclaimer  | HR Kiosk
Department of Justice |  Births, Deaths and Marriages | Court and Tribunal Services | Public Advocate | Public Trustee
All contents copyright Government of Western Australia. All rights reserved.